Tremor Gram – March 2018

March is NETA Month

It’s time to raise awareness about essential tremor! In 2010, Congress passed a resolution declaring March as National Essential Tremor Awareness Month. It gives the IETF an official forum to talk about ET and help the public understand the struggles people with ET face.

This year’s theme is “ET has no familiar face.” We want people to understand that ET affects all ages.
What can you do to help spread awareness?
  • Display one of our FREE NETA Month posters in your office, school or another public area.
  • If you are on Facebook or Twitter, downloadour special NETA Month Facebook and Twitter banners. And don’t forget to share our posts. (We’ll be posting all month long!)
  • Watch our blog site and share our posts. We will have several guest bloggers during March.
  • Watch your mail and donate during NETA month. As a special incentive, those making a $30 donation will receive an NETA Month t-shirt and for a $50 donation, donors will receive a tote bag and t-shirt. Money raised through donations funds awareness programs and educational materials, plus grants to fund ET research.

Register for Our Next Telephone Conference

Several times a year, the IEFT hosts a FREE telephone conference for members of the ET community. The next one is coming up in April. The topic is: ET vs. Parkinson’s. How Do They Differ? Here are the details:

Wednesday, April 18, 2018
          12 p.m. Pacific Time
          1 p.m. Mountain Time
          2 p.m. Central Time
          3 p.m. Eastern Time
Our speaker is Dr. Holly Shill, director of the Muhammad Ali Parkinson Center at Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix.
YOU MUST register in advance to take part. Register online or call (toll free) 888.387.3667. Space is limited so make your reservations early.




Share/Post Our YouTube Videos
Are you looking for videos that focus on essential tremor? We have a library of videos on our YouTube channel. They range from a “commercial” about essential tremor to a webinar on diagnostic treatment options.

Please feel free to share these videos during support group meetings or post them on your social media sites to raise awareness any time of the year. If you have a friend or family member who needs help in understanding the scope of ET, these videos might be helpful.