Tremor Gram – May 2017

June Teleconference Registration Open
Join the International Essential Tremor Foundation for the next call in our free educational telephone conference series on June 13. This one-hour call will feature a presentation by an occupational therapist on different techniques on how to cope with the daily challenges of ET, followed by a question-and-answer period.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017
12 pm Pacific • 1 pm Mountain • 2 pm Central • 3 pm Eastern
Topic: Mindfulness: Coping with Anxiety, Depression & the Social Stigma of ET
Speaker: Monique L. Giroux, MD,
Movement Disorders & Integrative Medicine Specialist, Medical Director
Movement and Neuroperformance Center
Englewood and Fort Collins, CO
Facilitated by Patrick McCartney, IETF Executive Director

RSVP by June 1
Registrations are required and limited.
Please contact the IETF (toll-free) at 888.387.3667 or visit www.essentialtremor.org/seminars to register.

 

New Vote for NIH Funding
Under a bipartisan spending deal reached late week in Congress, the National Institutes of Health will get a funding boost over the next five months from an omnibus spending package for the fiscal year 2017. As requested by the American Brain Coalition, an organization in which the IETF teams with for advocacy issues, the bill gives a $2 billion increase for the National Institutes of Health, including the $352 million from the 21st Century Cure Act. As requested by the American Brain Coalition, an organization in which the IETF teams with for advocacy issues, the bill gives a $2 billion increase for the National Institutes of Health (NIH), including the $352 million from the 21st Century Cure Act.

President Trump had proposed a $1.2 billion cut to the NIH as part of a package of budget cuts that were intended to pay for the construction of a U.S.-Mexico border wall. Those cuts and funding for the wall have been dropped from the omnibus bill. This bill specifically notes an increase of $110 million for the Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) Initiative (for a total of $410 million for FY 2017). The BRAIN Initiative has funding specifically earmarked for brain diseases, including essential tremor, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease. Learn more about the BRAIN Initiative at www.americanbraincoalition.org.

 

Mother’s Day Honorariums 
Mother’s Day is right around the corner and what better way to honor your mother than to make a special gift in her name. Names of donors and mothers will also be listed in the Tremor Talk magazine, the IETF’s annual donor publication printed and mailed three times per year. Give Mom a gift that will make a difference for so many others. Make a gift at www.essentialtremor.org/about-the-ietf/forms/honorarium-donation.

 

Start a Support Group