About the IETF

Reviewed logo from Greater KC Community FoundationFounded in 1988 as a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, the International Essential Tremor Foundation (IETF) is guided by an executive board of directors, a medical advisory board, and an executive director with a staff of two. The organization consists of patients, physicians, educators, health care workers, parents, relatives, friends, and volunteers.

Our Mission
The International Essential Tremor Foundation provides hope to the essential tremor (ET) community worldwide through awareness, education, support, and research.

Download our brochure

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the IETF. Current members include:

Kelly Lyons, PhD – President

Shari Finsilver – Vice President

Paul Rodden – Secretary

Mitch Fiser, CPA, CFP – Treasurer

Melissa Armitage, MPA – Director

Paula Nauer, MD – Director

Patrick Reidy – Director

        Mindy Alpert – Director

Patrick McCartney – Executive Director

Medical Advisory Board

The IETF Medical Advisory Board is comprised of physicians and researchers who specialize in essential tremor and other movement disorders. They advise the organization and review medical materials.

Review the members

IETF Scholarships

Each semester, the IETF will award up to four $1,000 scholarships to qualified post-high school students of all ages, to lessen the burden of higher education. The scholarship can be used for supplies, books or tuition at licensed, accredited institutions of higher education (including trade schools) and are paid directly to the educational institution.

Learn more

Strategic Plan

The IETF is always looking toward the future in its mission to provide hope to the ET community through awareness, education, support and research. Take a look at the foundation’s plan for the next three to five years.

Strategic Plan

Annual Reports

These reports chart our progress toward the mission of the Foundation. The IETF fiscal year runs from April 1 through March 31.

2014-2015  2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019


We are proud to be a member, participant and/or partner of the following organizations:

Alliance for Patient Access | American Brain Coalition | CIBR | Coalition for Clinical Trials Awareness | Community Health Charities | Cures Acceleration Network (CAN) | Genetic Alliance Global Genes RARE Foundation Alliance | Movement Disorders Policy Coalition | National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke | National Council of Nonprofits | One Mind | Tremor Action Network