College Scholarships

Allison Dyke is one of the 2017-2018 scholarship recipients.

Each semester, the IETF will award four $1,000 scholarships to qualified post-high school students of all ages, to lessen the burden of higher education. The scholarship can be used for supplies, books or tuition at licensed, accredited institutions of higher education (including trade schools) and are paid directly to the educational institution.

Learn more about the IETF’s most recent scholarship award winners Allison Dyke, Robert Holder, Brogan Speraw, and Madison Young.



Follow these steps to apply for an IETF scholarship:

  • Review our Scholarship Description for requirements, criteria and required documentation. PDF
  • Complete an Application. PDF
  • Submit all scholarship application materials electronically as one document to OR mail documents to IETF, Attn: Patrick McCartney, PO Box 14005, Lenexa, KS 66285 according to the following schedule: Fall Semester – Applicant deadline is May 1 with award announcement by July 15; Spring Semester – Applicant deadline is October 31 with award announcement December 15.

Application checklist
____ Did you complete the application?
____ Did you submit an essay with the application?
____ Did you include a recent high school or college transcript(s) or the equivalent?
____ Did you include a letter of acceptance from the educational program director?
____ Did you include a doctor’s letter confirming ET diagnosis with the application?
____ If you were previously awarded an IETF scholarship, did you submit a new application, essay, and transcript?

All application materials MUST be submitted together for consideration.
Applications missing materials will be ineligible.


Past Scholarship Winners

2011  2012   2013   2014   2015   2016   2017

Building the Scholarship Program –
The Catherine S. Rice Scholarship Fund

The IETF needs additional generous donors to continue the scholarship program. With your support, we can help the many qualified and deserving applicants to finance some of their educational expenses.

Catherine S. Rice retired in September 2015, after 18 years of leadership as the IETF’s Executive Director. One of Cathy’s passions at the IETF is to recognize the achievements of students dealing with ET. To honor and help continue Cathy’s work with college students for years to come, the IETF Board of Directors established the “Catherine S. Rice Scholarship Fund”.

This fund will be used to award four scholarships to deserving students both in the Fall and Winter semesters. For anyone wishing to recognize the dedication of Cathy, the Board encourages donations to this fund, in her honor. For more information, please call the IETF office at (toll free) 888.387.3667. Donations and/or notes to Cathy can be made online at the link below, or can be mailed to the IETF, C/O Catherine S. Rice Scholarship Fund, PO Box 14005, Lenexa, KS  66285-4005.

Donate to the Catherine S. Rice Scholarship Fund

Other Resources

We Connect Now is dedicated to uniting college students with disabilities in access to higher education and employment issues. Visit their site.